US Election: The latest updates

Joe Biden has been elected the 46th president of the United States, according to The Associated Press and other major news outlets. The presumptive president-elect was projected on Nov. 7 to winthe state of Pennsylvania, which put him over the 270-electoral college vote threshold. Kamala Harris, his running mate, is the first woman and first woman of color to be presumptive vice president-elect; Biden also makes history as the oldest presumptive president-elect. Georgia, meanwhile, announced a manual “post-election audit” of votes cast. The AP has called Alaska for President Trump. President Trump has not conceded the race.

More election coverage:

  • A Michigan judge threw out a lawsuit by Trump supporters that alleged vote-counting fraud in Detroit, after a law firm representing his campaign withdrew from a case seeking to block certification of the vote in Pennsylvania. The AP says the campaign has filed at least 17 related lawsuits in state and federal courts.
  • Attorney General William Barr sent a memo to federal prosecutors, obtained by the AP, to probe election fraud allegations, “if they exist,” before results of the presidential race are certified. Meanwhile, The New York Times spoke with election officials in every state and found no evidence of fraud.
  • Presumptive president-elect Joe Biden announced a new coronavirus task force on Monday.  
  • Democrats will maintain control of the House of Representatives.
  • Republican Sen. Dan Sullivan has won reelection in Alaska, the AP reports. Control of the Senate is going to come down to the two Senate seats in Georgia, where a Jan. 5 runoff is scheduled.
  • Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell of Kentucky won re-election, while House Speaker Nancy Pelosi of California also won her re-election bid.

The following states have been called, according to the AP:

Donald Trump (217 electoral votes):

  • Alabama (9), Alaska (3), Arkansas (6), Florida (29), Idaho (4), Indiana (11), Iowa (6), Kansas (6), Kentucky (8), Louisiana (8), Mississippi (6), Maine (1), Missouri (10), Montana (3), Nebraska (4), North Carolina (15), North Dakota (3), Ohio (18), Oklahoma (7), South Carolina (9), South Dakota (3), Tennessee (11), Texas (38), Utah (6), West Virginia (5), Wyoming (3).

Joe Biden (290 electoral votes):

  • Arizona (11), California (55), Colorado (9), Connecticut (7), Delaware (3), Columbia (3), Hawaii (4), Illinois (20), Maine (3), Maryland (10), Massachusetts (11), Minnesota (10), New Hampshire (4), New Jersey (14), Michigan (16), Nebraska (1), Nevada (6), New Mexico (5), New York (29), Oregon (7), Pennsylvania (20), Rhode Island (4), Vermont (3), Virginia (13), Washington (12), Wisconsin (10).

Note: Maine and Nebraska split their electoral votes.

Please follow and like us: