I'm Live!
Watch Now

Results For Atlanta’s Runoff Elections

Runoff elections in races for key local government positions were held across metro Atlanta on Tuesday.

The AJC is a running list of results for races ranging from school board and county commission to judges and court clerks. Results are incomplete and unofficial as.


Sabrina Hill appeared to have ousted District 7 Board of Education representative Judy Johnson.


Commission District 2: The Republican runoff between Fitz Johnson and Andy Smith was too close to call. The winner will face Democrat Jerica Richardson in November for the chance to replace retiring Commissioner Bob Ott.

Commissioner District 4: Monique Sheffield had a late lead over Shelia Edwards in the Democratic race to replace Commissioner Lisa Cupid, who is running for county commission chair.

Clerk of Superior Court: Connie Taylor had a big lead over Nancy Syrop in the Democratic contest to face incumbent Republican Rebecca Keaton in November.

State Court judge: Diana Simmons had a late lead over Trina Griffiths.

Superior Court judge: Jason Marbutt had a significant lead over Gregory Shenton.


Commission District 1: Former Doraville City Councilman Robert Patrick had a lead over political newcomer Cynthia Yaxon in the Democratic primary runoff. The winner will face incumbent Republican Commissioner Nancy Jester in November.

Commission District 6: Former Clarkston Mayor Ted Terry had a significant lead over public health professional and activist Maryam Ahmad in the Democratic primary runoff. The winner of the Democratic runoff will replace retiring longtime Commissioner Kathie Gannon. There is no Republican challenger.

Sheriff (nonpartisan special election): Incumbent Sheriff Melody Maddox had a sizable lead over retired sheriff’s office veteran Ruth Stringer to fill the unexpired term of former Sheriff Jeffrey Mann, which runs through the end of the year.

Maddox already won a separate Democratic primary and will face Republican challenger Harold Dennis in November for the right to be DeKalb’s next full-term sheriff.

School Board District 3: Deirdre Pierce had a lead over Willie R. Mosley Jr.

Superior Court: Yolanda Parker-Smith had a significant lead over Mindy Pillow in the runoff to replace retiring longtime Judge Clarence Seeliger.


District Attorney: Fani Willis appeared had declared victory by a decisive margin over her beleaguered former boss, six-term incumbent Paul Howard.

Sheriff: Patrick “Pat” Labat had a significant lead over incumbent Theodore “Ted” Jackson.

Superior Court: Melynee Leftridge Harris had a large lead over Tamika Hrobowski-Houston in the race to succeed Judge Constance C. Russell, who chose not to run for re-election.

School Board District 4: Franchesca Warren had a lead against Sandra C. Wright in the race to succeed Linda Bryant, who chose not to run for re-election.


Sheriff: Keybo Taylor appeared to have bested Curtis Clemons in their Democratic primary runoff. The winner will face Republican Lou Solis in the general election.

Commission chair: Nicole Love Hendrickson had the Democratic runoff locked up; opponent Lee Thompson Jr. was on the ballot but had asked voters to choose Hendrickson instead. Hendrickson will face Republican David Post to fill the seat of retiring chairman Charlotte Nash.

Commission District 3: In the Democratic primary runoff, Jasper Watkins III appeared to have defeated Derrick J. Wilson. In the Republican primary runoff, Ben Archer appeared to have defeated over Matt DeReimer.

The runoff winners will square off in November for the right to replace Republican Tommy Hunter, who is not seeking re-election.

Tax commissioner: Tiffany Porter was headed for a win over fellow Democrat Regina M. Carden. The winner to face Republican incumbent Richard Steele in November.

Superior Court: Deborah R. Fluker was set to oust incumbent Judge Kathryn Schrader.


Sheriff: Reginald Scandrett had a lead over Tony Brown. The winner between the Democrats will face Republican Jack Redlinger in November’s general election.

Board of Education, District 2: Incumbent Josh Hinton, who serves as school board chairman, was trailing to challenger Makenzie McDaniel.

Source: AJC

Please follow and like us:



Enjoy RadioOnFire? Please spread the word :)